Special porridge

Twice this week I’ve heard people complain about their “diet” breakfast.  He was hating drinking forcing down tomato juice every morning and she was bored, bored, bored of eggs, eggs, eggs.  Another Mom commented on this blog the other day asking what do I give the kids for breakfast if not a sugared cereal?  Here’s one option.

It’s closely based on a recipe I found on Paleo Plan and the original version of the recipe is here.  (As an aside: I don’t follow a paleo diet – but I often find some great recipes on paleo sites).  My daughter Ana calls this “special porridge” and the name has stuck.

My daughter calls this “Special Porridge” and the name has stuck.

For the three of us (Baby Rafael isn’t quite ready for this) I crack 3 – 4 eggs and splash about 1/4 – 1/2 cup of almond milk in a pot.  Don’t turn the stove on yet just give it a good whisk.

Meanwhile Ana mashes up 2 small or 1 large banana in a bowl with a couple of dollops of almond butter (get the stuff that’s just almonds or make your own).

I tip a few tablespoons of flaxseeds, and a few good handfuls of nuts into the blender.  This morning it was a mix of almonds, pecans and walnuts.  Give it a quick whirl on high so they are finely chopped.

Add the banana / almond butter mixture and the seed / nut mix to the pan.  Sprinkle in a bit of extra flavour.  Ground ginger, cinnamon and vanilla are our favourites.  Turn on the heat and whisk whilst it’s cooking.  It only takes a few minutes to thicken up and it’s done.

Usually I throw some berries on top.  It’s super filling and best eaten hot and fresh.  Often I put leftovers in the fridge and eat it the next day but it isn’t quite as good as straight out of the pan.

My two year old always asks for seconds. Kids don’t need added sugar in their breakfast to eat it.

If you are looking for an alternative to bread, cereal, eggs or tomato juice! in the morning there are thousands of different recipes on the internet using nuts, quinoa and fruits.  Breakfast should be enjoyable and satisfying as well as nutritious!

This entry was posted in food for kids, meal ideas and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Special porridge

  1. Sounds scrummy. Interesting regarding kids not into cereal unless there is added sugar – My mother refused to provide sugarry drinks, and in our late teens when we started drinking tea and coffee she made it clear that having sugar in hot drinks was not an option. I am so grateful to her now for that “guidance” (!!) Non-sugarry drinks taste “right”, those with sugar don’t. Perhaps it could be the same with kids and sugary cereal – they may not miss what they have never been offered.

  2. Bree says:

    I agree. My son has never had sugary cereal. The worst he’s probably had was sultana bran which I discovered the other day does have sugar in it. I’m switching him over to weetbix which we have with milk and a banana or strawberries. The other thing he loves is smoothies which we make with milk, banana, frozen raspberries, yoghurt and a bit of muesli. Kids don’t miss what they don’t know about. And when I do introduce something like lemonade as a treat and he asks for it I make it very clear that it is for special treats only and he accepts that.

    • runningmelon says:

      Absolutely! If we want our kids to eat healthy meals then that’s what we should be serving them. Good job! Your kids may never verbally thank you for your good decisions (parenthood!) but you are certainly making their lives better in both the short and long term.

  3. laugan says:

    My kids are also weetbix eaters and have never had sugar on them, they’ve just started asking for dried apricots on it so I cut up a couple and sprinkle them over, I’m pleased they came up with this on their own, I certainly try to limit the amount of non natural sugar they have (as in fruit/vege sugars). If/when they do have fizz it’s sprite zero so they think they’re really lucky but it’s not as bad for them!

    • Sarah says:

      That’s fantastic! Kids are sweet enough without sugar added. Sounds like they are creative too with their own little twists on breakfast ideas.

  4. VJ says:

    Yum! This looks delicious! I will have to go in search of some almond milk.

    • Sarah says:

      Try the supermarket. I would have thought they stock it? (It’s may not be in the refrigerated dairy but with the shelf stable non-dairy milks and UHTs). If not, any kind of milk I’m sure would be fine.

  5. really its sound amazing….i love creamy lunch …i will try sure this dish.

Leave a Reply

