Healthy apple crumble with my home grown apples

I have a brown thumb and manage to kill pretty much everything that gets planted in my garden.  Fortunately for me when we moved into our current house in Oregon there was an existing, well established cherry tree and a nice little apple tree that haven’t required any of my gardening (non)expertise.  The cherry tree gave us more cherries than we could eat at the start of summer and now as summer comes to an end, the apple tree is full of fruit.

The kids helped me with our first apple harvest.

I’m not sure of the apple variety but they are reasonably sour.  They’re ok eaten fresh but better suited to cooking and  I decided to make an apple crumble but to modify it so it’s without any added sugar, white flour or oats.

I washed and chopped the apples.  Added a bit of water and microwaved them for about 7 minutes – just until they were a bit soft.

For a bit of sweetness and flavour I added some ripe pears and plums that were leftover from last week’s veggie box and some frozen raspberries (which were almost defrosted by the time they were added). Adding sugar is not necessary.

At this stage I pulled out some of the fruit mix and put it through the blender. That’s another couple of fruit pots in the freezer for baby Rafa.

I blended several handfuls of mixed nuts (brazil, almond, pecan and hazelnut). I used a Vitamix blender which is brilliant for fine grinding and I let it run just long enough so it the nuts were almost a paste to give some moisture to the topping. I combined the nuts with three (or so) heaped tablespoons of almond flour (which is just almonds finely ground to a flour).

The topping went on the fruit and I had it in a 350F oven for about 20 minutes.  Just watch it and cook it until the top is turning golden brown.

If you want to label it, it’s gluten-free, dairy-free, egg-free, no added sugar,  and could even pass as a Paleo dessert (although I like to eat this for breakfast).

Now for confession time: I’ve had three helpings of my apple crumble since it came out of the oven.  Pigging out on it isn’t an example of healthy eating but this stuff is just so good.  I better go put it in the fridge so there’s some left for tomorrow’s breakfast.

This entry was posted in meal ideas and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Healthy apple crumble with my home grown apples

  1. Pingback: Harvesting the apple tree « Travelling with Ana

  2. Yum! Apple combines so well with other fruits and the touch of colour makes it look appetising, too.

  3. Bree says:

    Oh go on have another helping!! It’s just fruit and some nuts!! If you are adding ice cream or cream then maybe steady on…… or screw it have another anyway!!!

  4. Oh that sounds absolutely delicious, Sarah. And I’m exactly like you when it comes to gardening, I’m just lucky I have a husband who loves it so I can enjoy cooking the rewards 🙂

Leave a Reply

