From dilemma, through disaster to a delicious lunch

So, the other day I had a bit of a dilemma with my veggie box.  For the I-don’t-know-how-many-weeks in a row it contained green beans.  I quite like green beans.  But they aren’t one of those veggies that I want in these kinds of quantities (i.e., a HUGE bag every week).  Anyway, I asked some friends for some new suggestions for their use.  (They’d already bean (get it?) in stew, soup, a French tuna salad, pureed for baby Rafa, dipped in hummus and steamed as a side dish).  A friend sent me a recipe for pickled beans.  Great idea, I thought.  The dilemma was resolved.

But then came disaster.   I made the fatal mistake of skim reading the recipe before jumping in.  Step one, wash and cut veggies, salt and put in the fridge over night.  No worries.  Done.  The following day I read the rest of the recipe.  Hang on a minute.  I don’t have any jars to pack and seal them into.  What was I thinking?

So, onto plan C.  Rinsing the salt off and chucking them into a pan with pine nuts and an olive bruschetta mix.  I ended up making this four times in three days to use them all up but the good news is green beans have redeemed themselves.  In fact, I won’t mind if they are in the box again this week.

Green beans redeemed.

 

This entry was posted in meal ideas and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to From dilemma, through disaster to a delicious lunch

  1. Yum! One of my favourite ways of eating beans is cutting them in chunks and steaming them until crisp. Throw in a can of mixed beans (kidney beans etc) and some finely chopped celery and perhaps some kernels of sweet corn and/or some chopped capsicum. Leaping Zucchini, you may not approve of the dressing of oil, cider vinegar, salt and pepper and a teaspoon of sugar – but the little taste of sugar does take some of the bitterness out of the beans. This keeps in the fridge (until the next vege box arrives) and makes for an easy dinner – lettuce, tomato, maybe some avocado, bean salad and lean meat.

    • Sarah says:

      So it’s a cold bean salad? Very good. I have an unopened bag of stevia in the cupboard that I keep meaning to try as a sweetener when the recipe really needs some sweetening up but I’ve never used it because we don’t sweeten anything! I gather I should use less stevia than what the recipe calls for of sugar but I need to do some more investigating and experimenting with that.

  2. Bree says:

    And maybe next time they come you’ll have some jars waiting for the suckers!! I just keep glass jars that we get jam or pesto or passata in, run them thru the dishwasher and then just boil before using/ refilling.

    • Sarah says:

      Yes. I will have to get in the habit of collecting some jars so I’m better prepared next time! Just a question, do you reuse the old lid and that “seals” ok?

      • Bree says:

        I use the old lid but I’m not doing things to keep for ages. And I keep my jams etc in the fridge. If you wanted to seriously preserve then I’d get some of the glass jars with the flip top lids and the rubber ring.

      • runningmelon says:

        I think I might go just with boiling up old jars and reusing the lids for the moment and invest in the real deal later if need be. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

